Bill Yeoman to be Inducted into FCA Hall of Champions

Legendary head coach Bill Yeoman

Oct. 18, 2011

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Former University of Houston football head coach Bill Yeoman recently was named one of three inductees into the Fellowship of Christian Athletes Hall of Champions.

After bringing FCA to the city of Houston, Yeoman has continued to find ways to minister through sports and FCA for nearly 50 years.

As the 25-year head football coach at the University of Houston (1962-86), Yeoman became the first representative from UH to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2001. He also broke barriers by leading the university to become the first Southwest Conference member to integrate its football team.

Today, Yeoman continues to work for the university as a development officer in the athletic department.

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes, the world's largest sports ministry, which relies heavily on the work of volunteers, elects several of those individuals into its Hall of Champions each year. Three people who made a tremendous impact on the ministry recently were announced as the Class of 2011.

In addition to Yeoman, the Class of 2011 includes: Kyle Rote, Jr., former U.S. national soccer player and National Soccer Hall of Fame inductee; and Deb Patterson, Kansas State University's head women's basketball coach;

FCA's Hall of Champions was established in 1991 to honor individuals who have demonstrated a consistent commitment to Jesus Christ through the ministry of FCA. They are considered volunteer "All Stars" who have given above and beyond the call of duty and have upheld the Four Core Values of FCA: Integrity, Serving, Teamwork and Excellence.

The recipients are determined each year by an FCA Selection Committee following a nomination process that includes staff, volunteers, athletes and the organization's Board of Trustees.

Each member of the 2011 Class has had an influential impact on FCA as a Huddle leader, volunteer or speaker. They join a prestigious list of 72 other inductees into the FCA Hall of Champions, taking their place among the great individuals who have used the FCA platform to make a dramatic impact on lives.

Each inductee will be honored with a plaque bearing a sculpture of their likeness that will remain in the Hall of Champions in FCA's National Support Center in Kansas City. A replica will be presented to the honoree at an appropriate special event sometime this year.

Commenting on the selections, FCA President and CEO Les Steckel said, "These three amazing individuals have all received numerous accolades for their impact on the world of sports. FCA is also pleased to honor them for those accomplishments plus their many years of support for the mission of FCA and consistent stand for Christian values and character."

The Fellowship of Christian Athletes, the heart and soul in sports, is touching millions of lives... one heart at a time. Since 1954, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes has been challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high and youth levels to use the powerful medium of athletics to impact the world for Jesus Christ. FCA is the largest Christian sports ministry in the world and focuses on serving local communities by equipping, empowering, and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ.

Class of 2011
Bill Yeoman, Football Coach
Deb Patterson, Women's Basketball Coach
Kyle Rote, Jr., Soccer Player

Class of 2010
Donn Moomaw, Football Player
Jim Scroggins, High School Coach and Athletic Director
Sue Semrau, Basketball Coach
Ken Smith, Coach/ Pastor

Class of 2009
Ken Hatfield, Football Player/Coach
Bob Lilly, Football Player
Larry Mize, PGA Golfer
Dal Shealy, FCA President and CEO

Class of 2008
Edward Britton III, Lacrosse Athlete
Charles Kemble, Volunteer
Betty Probacso, Golfer
James "Buck" McCabe, FCA Board Chairman
Madeline Manning Mims, Track and Field Olympian

Class of 2007
Albert Long Jr., Multi-Sport Athlete
Jimmy Feix, Football Coach
Dick Harp, Coach

Class of 2006
Mike Kolen, Football Player
John "Bull" Bramlett, Football Player
John Gordy, Football Player

Class of 2005
Jean Driscoll Olympian/Paralympian
Frosty Westering, Football Coach
Gary Cuozzo, Football Player
Prentice Gautt, Football Player

Class of 2004
Fisher DeBerry, Football Coach
Otto Graham, Football Player
Larry Nelson, PGA Golfer
Jim Rexilius, Football Coach

Class of 2003
Dr. O.K. Bailey, Volunteer
Ray Hildebrand, Former Staff; Volunteer
Mike Singletary, Football Player
Jim Myers, Football Coach
Joan Cronan, Athletics Director

Class of 2002
Carl Erskine, Baseball Player
John Erickson, FCA President
Danny Lotz, Basketball Player
R.V. Brown, Football Player
Morley Fraser, Athletics Director

Class of 2001
Jane Albright, Basketball Coach
Bobby Bowden, Football Coach
John Lotz, College Administrator
Freddy Mitchell, Volunteer
Tom Osborne, Football Coach

Class of 2000
Tony Dungy, Football Coach
Captain Bill Lewis, FCA Golf Ministry Founder
Faye O'Dell, Football Coach

Class of 1999
Tonya Crevier, Basketball Handler
"Deacon" Dan Towler, Football Player
Don Shinnick Football Player

Class of 1998
Bunny Martin, Volunteer
Bobby Richardson, Baseball Player
Dick Schultz, Volunteer
Grant Teaff, Football Coach
Harry J. Lloyd, Volunteer

Class of 1997
J.C. Watts, Congressman; Football Player
John Wooden, Basketball Coach
Raymond Berry, Football Coach

Class of 1995
Steve Largent, Congressman; Football Player
Branch Rickey, Baseball Executive

Class of 1994
Peggy Kirk, Bell LPGA Golfer
Nick Hyder, High School Coach
Don McClanen, FCA Founder; Exec. Director

Class of 1992
Paul Anderson, U.S. Olympian
Kay Yow, Basketball Coach
Jerry Kindall, Baseball Coach
Betsy King, LPGA Golfer

Class of 1991
Tom Landry, Football Coach
Archie Griffin, Heisman Trophy Winner
Steve Owens, Heisman Trophy Winner
Roger Staubach, Heisman Trophy Winner
James N. Jeffrey, FCA Executive Director
Dick Lane, Volunteer
Dan Stavely, Football Coach

vs USATF Junior Championships
Clovis, Calif.
All Day
vs USATF Junior Championships
Clovis, Calif.
All Day
vs Oklahoma
Houston, Texas (NRG Stadium)
11:00 AM
TDECU Stadium
11:00 AM
at Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
6:30 PM
Texas State
at Texas State
San Marcos, Texas
TDECU Stadium
7:00 PM
at Navy
Annapolis, Md.
2:00 PM
TDECU Stadium
at SMU
Dallas, Texas
TDECU Stadium
TDECU Stadium
George Mason
vs George Mason
Estero, Fla. (Germain Arena)
6:30 PM
vs Kent State/South Dakota
Estero, Fla. (Germain Arena)
vs TBD
Estero, Fla. (Germain Arena)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago