Men Win C-USA Indoor Track and Field Title

Feb. 24, 2007

Complete Meet Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

HOUSTON -- After sweeping the men's 60 meter final, the Cougars won the men's C-USA Indoor Track and Field team title at Yeoman Field House on Saturday.

The men's easily took the trophy with 186 points. Finishing second with 130 points was UTEP and following in third was Rice (90).

The win earned Leroy Burrell his sixth men's coach of the year award. Earning Freshman of the Year was LaMarcus Hunter. Hunter won the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.12.

During Saturday's finals, Houston swept the 60-meter run. Winning gold was senior Carey LaCour's 6.75, followed by junior Tremaine Smith (6.77) and senior Vincent Marshall (6.85). The finish earned the Cougars 24 points.

After earning a silver medal in the 60 meters, Smith would go on to win the 200 meters with a time of 21.65. He was followed closely behind by teammates freshman Pearson Crichlow (fourth) and junior Kolee Latson (fifth).

Latson also earned a silver medal in the 400 meters with a finish of 48.22. Freshmen Justin Davis and Jason Perez finished seventh and eight, respectively. Competing for the first time as a Cougar, junior Steve Magness finished sixth in the 800 meters.



The men's 4x400 meter relay of Davis, Smith, Crichlow and Latson earned gold with a time of 3:15.72.

Junior Jarrett Flax went in to Saturday's competition leading in the heptathlon and never relinquished his lead. He won the gold with 5,104 points. He beat his personal best set last year and now ranks as the third best Houston indoor heptathlon finish. Senior Nick Garza added a third place finish (5,012 pts.), freshman Wesley Bray finished fourth (5,000 pts.) and sophomore Morgan Floyd finished fifth (4,840 pts.).

Senior Calum Neff paced the Cougars in the distance events. Neff finished fourth in the mile, ahead of Daniel Martinez who finished 10th. In the 3,000 meter run, freshman Ahmed Harb finished ninth.

In the field events, senior James Lee finished third in the shot put (16.65m/54-07.50) and senior Lucas Mireles finished fourth (16.21m/53-02.25). Freshman Brandon Hubbard added an eighth place finish.

Junior Ivan Diggs just missed matching his season best in the high jump. He cleared 2.16m/7-01.00 to earn silver with senior Tristian Whitley finishing fourth (2.06m/6-09.00). After earning a bronze medal in the 60 meters, Marshall added a fourth place finish in the triple jump. He trailed sophomore Jeremy Kelley's third place finish of 14.48m/47-06.25 and sophomore Thomas Orr finished fifth.

Marshall also collected a silver medal in the long jump clearing 7.42m/24-04.25 and Orr finished 10th.

The women, who were last year's team champions, finished third with 91 points. Winning their first ever Conference USA team championship was Rice with 100 points and UTEP finished second with 95.50. Winning Freshman of the Year honors was Quin'shundolyn McPherson.

Senior Ebonie Floyd won the 200 meters with her finish of 23.41. She beat her own conference record she set Friday in the prelims. McPherson added a sixth place finish of 24.75. McPherson also finished fifth in the triple jump with a jump of 12.18m/39-11.50. Floyd also was third in the 60 meters with a time 7.32.

Junior Seun Adigun notched a first place finish in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.57 with teammate sophomore LeeA'ndrea Robinson coming in a close second (8.61). Senior Octavia Garrett was a fifth place finisher in the 400 meter with a time of 56.11.

In the 4x400 meter relay, Floyd took the lead in the second leg of the race after starting in fourth place but the Cougars were unable to hang on and finished second with a time of 3:44.81.

In the long jump, freshman Hyleta Young, sophomore Dayo Ogunnyi and freshman Quin'shundolyn McPherson finished second, third and fourth, respectively. McPherson also finished fifth in the triple jump.

Conference USA Indoor Track and Field Championships Awards
Men's Champion

Women's Champion

Male Freshman of the Year
LaMarcus Hunter, Houston

Female Fresham of the Year
Quin'shundolyn McPherson, Houston

Male Performance of the Meet
Mickael Hanany, UTEP

Female Performance of the Meet
Gloria Asumnu, Tulane

Male High Point Scorer of the Meet
Mickael Hanany, UTEP

Female High Point Scorer of the Meet
Gaelle Niare, SMU

Men's Indoor Coach of the Year
Leroy Burrell, Houston

Women's Indoor Coach of the Year
Jim Bevan, Rice

Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago