Track and Field Heads East to New Balance Collegiate Invitational

    Sophomore hurdler Sade-Mariah Greenridge
    Sophomore hurdler Sade-Mariah Greenridge
    Track & Field Home



    RELATED LINKS

    Ticket Information

    Tom Tellez Track Facility

    Yeoman Fieldhouse

    Houston Track & Field on Facebook

    Follow Houston Track & Field on Twitter

    HEADLINES
    Wesley Bray Claims Thorpe Cup

    Cougars Welcome Track and Field Great Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie

    Barraza Shines In Red, White and Blue


    Jan. 30, 2013

    New Balance Collegiate Invitational
     Time  Friday: 8:30am (CST) / 9:30am (EST) | Saturday: 7:30am (CST) / 8:30am (EST)
     Location The Armory | New York, New York
     Heat Sheets  Click Here
     Meet Info  Click Here
     Live Results  Flash Results
     Social Media   Facebook Twitter


    NEW YORK - The University of Houston track and field team will head east to take part in the New Balance Collegiate Invitational at The Armory on Feb. 1-2. This is the fifth consecutive year the Cougars have traveled to compete in the Invitational.

    More than 100 universities and colleges spanning both the nation and the globe will be coming to The Armory to compete in this prestigious meet. Numerous top-25 programs will be in attendance. Houston remains outside the top-25 in the nation by the USTFCCAA Rankings, but are sixth (men) and 10th (women) in the South Central Regional Rankings.

    The meet begins at 8:30 a.m. (CST)/ 9:30 a.m. (EST), Friday with the women's 3K eastern on the track and the women's shot put championship on the field. Friday's events will finish at 7:28 p.m. (CST)/ 8:28 p.m. (EST), with the men's distance medley college. On Saturday, the meet starts at 7:30 a.m. (CST)/ 8:30 a.m. (EST) with the women's 5K college and conclude with a closing ceremony at 5 p.m. (CST)/ 6 p.m. (EST).

    LAST TIME OUT
    The Cougars wrapped up the two-day Howie Ryan Invitational and Multi's at Yeoman Field House on Saturday. The women's 4x400 relay team (N. Onwumere, K. Hardnett, M. Young, and B. Wallace) topped the competition with a 3:48.97 performance. They clipped the other competition by a three second margin to finish with their third fastest time of the season.

    Going into the final day, senior Kevin Johnson sat tied for first place in the men's heptathlon. Despite finishing tied for fifth in the pole vault (3.60m; 11-9.75) and eighth in the 1000-meter run (3:07.53), the Baytown, Texas native, pulled through to claim the top prize with a personal best of 4858 points.

    STAY CONNECTED
    Follow Houston Track & Field on Twitter @UHCougarTF and "Like" /HoustonCougarTrackandField on Facebook.

     

     

    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image