Taylor and Carter Named Cougars of the Year

Male Cougar of the Year Chris Carter with Senior Associate AD Darren Dunn

May 2, 2011

Photo Gallery

The University of Houston Department of Intercollegiate Athletics honored its graduating seniors, team MVPs and the Male and Female Cougars of the Year at its annual All-Sports Banquet sponsored by the "H" Association at the U of H Hilton, Monday evening.

Women's basketball senior Courtney Taylor won Female Cougar of the Year for the second straight year. Also for the second consecutive year, Taylor was the Conference USA Player of the Year. She led her team to a berth in the NCAA Tournament after the team posted an unblemished 16-0 record to win the Conference USA Championship. The 2011 Defensive Player of the Year, Taylor became Houston's all-time rebounder with 1,165 boards. She averaged 15.6 points per game and 11.1 rebounds per contest which ranked ninth in the nation.

The Male Cougar of the Year award went to men's track and field senior Chris Carter. Carter was integral in the giving the men's track team its fifth consecutive Conference USA Indoor Title. He was named the Conference USA Male Athlete of the Year after winning league titles in the long and triple jump. He finished fourth at the NCAA Championships in the triple jump to become an All-American and his mark ranks as the second best in program history.

The event also honored the academic achievements of Cougar student-athletes. As of fall 2010, UH student-athletes achieved their highest-ever overall GPA and most hours passed per semester. Fifteen percent of UH student-athletes were named to the Dean's List and 140 student-athletes earned Conference USA Honor Roll accolades. Among the 140, 19 students were named C-USA Commissioner's Medalists, which goes to those with a 3.75 GPA or higher.

The Robert L. Grainger Leadership Award went to the late Mark Taylor, UH head swimming coach for the past nine years who passed away in March. He was honored for his leadership and immense love for not only his team, but all of Cougar Athletics. His wife, Lorraine, and sons, Troy and Zane, were present to accept the award from the entire swimming and diving team.

Athletic MVPs
Baseball -- nominees TBD
Softball (nominees) -- Amanda Crabtree, Katy Beth Sherman, Melissa Gregson
Outdoor Men's Track (nominees) -- Wesley Ruttoh, Wesley Bray, Chris Carter, Errol Nolan
Outdoor Women's Track (nominees) -- Grecia Bolton, Whitney Harris, Karley King
Tennis -- Giorgia Pozzan
Swimming -- Kim Eeson
Diving -- Lacey Truelove
Soccer -- Lauri Byrne
Men's Cross Country -- Nate Pineda
Women's Cross Country -- Megan Munoz
Indoor Men's Track -- Chris Carter
Indoor Women's Track -- Christie Jones
Volleyball -- Lucy Charuk
Golf -- Curtis Reed
Men's Basketball -- Zamal Nixon
Women's Basketball -- Courtney Taylor

Academic MVPs
Baseball --Matt Creel
Softball --Jennifer Klinkert
Tennis -- Celia Fraser
Swimming & Diving --Marissa Blumenthal
Soccer -- Ryan Bruz
Men's Cross Country --Drevan Anderson-Kaapa
Women's Cross Country --Erica Hannemann
Men's Track --Wesley Bray
Women's Track --Jasmine Trier
Volleyball --Stephanie Nwachakwu
Golf -- Eric Adler
Men's Basketball -- Mikhail McLean
Women's Basketball -- Roxanna Button
Football -- John McIntyre

Athletic Trainer of the Year: Yamamura Mabo



Watch Houston Video
at NCAA West Prelims
Sacramento, Calif.
All Day
vs NCAA Outdoor Championships
Eugene, Ore.
All Day
vs NCAA Outdoor Championships
Eugene, Ore.
All Day
vs NCAA Outdoor Championships
Eugene, Ore.
All Day
vs NCAA Outdoor Championships
Eugene, Ore.
All Day




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago