Senior Student-Athletes Honored for Time as Cougars

May 7, 2014


HOUSTON – For their commitment to the community and for their contributions both in the classroom and in competition during their time as a Cougar, Houston Athletics honored its graduating senior class at the inaugural Senior Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), held on Tuesday in the Great Hall within the Athletics/Alumni Center on campus.

Over 50 graduating seniors were in attendance, along with families and friends. Also joining in on the celebratory breakfast was Houston Athletics’ administrative staff, head coaches and valued supporters of the program, including members of the “H” Association and speaking on behalf of the former letterwinner association was President Kelly McDonald.

The morning breakfast began by honoring all graduating seniors, while Faculty Athletic Representative Dr. Richard Scammell presented the student-athletes with their graduation sash. 

The academic honors continued when eight senior Team Academic MVPs were recognized for their representation as a true ‘student-athlete.’

Softball – Haley Outon
Tennis – Celia Fraser
Swimming – Heather Winn
Men’s Track – John Fortune
Women’s Track – Megan Frausto
Women’s Basketball – Mae Woods
Men’s Basketball – Mikhail McLean
Football – Kevin Forsch

From those eight senior Academic MVPs, Fortune was selected as the Academic Cougar of the Year, which recognizes a student-athlete that exemplifies scholarship, leadership and commitment to intellectual challenge.

The ceremony continued with the American Athletic Conference awarding a Sport Excellence Award in which winners establish excellent academic credentials and honors as well as earning athletic accolades for performance and demonstrated volunteer service to the community. With that, Houston senior women’s track and field pole-vaulter Karley King was honored for Indoor Track and Field.

SAAC President and junior softball player Kayla Holland then recognized this year’s Robert L. Grainger Award winner, given to a member of the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics who has exhibited academic leadership, served proudly in the community and is an outstanding ambassador for our Cougar community.

This year’s Robert L. Grainger Award went to senior volleyball player and former SAAC President Meredith Ware.

For their efforts on the field and in competition, the ceremony continued by recognizing those seniors who were selected as their 2013-14 Team MVPs.

TEAM MVPs (if seniors)
Women’s Soccer – Cami Koski
Women’s Basketball – Te’onna Campbell
Swimming – Heather Winn
Women’s Indoor Track and Field – Brittany Wallace

To wrap up the awards, Houston Athletics presented two seniors with the highest honors of the year – naming a Female and Male Cougar of the Year. Both represented their respective sports to the highest standard both on the field, in the classroom and within the community during their time at the University of Houston.

Female Cougar of the Year: Karley King (Track and Field)
Male Cougar of the Year: Chase Wellbrock (Baseball)

“My time at the University of Houston as a student-athlete has been special and to have been able to share and honor the success we have had over the last four years with the group I began my collegiate career with made it a memorable morning,” Wellbrock said. “We all know that as seniors we have played an integral role both on the field and off and with that, we are excited to graduate and see how our teammates continue to build on our legacy.”

A special 'THANK YOU' video presented by the underclassman to the seniors ...

2013-14 Houston Athletics All-Sport Highlight Reel ...

“H” Association, a non-profit organization of varsity letterwinners, in the NCAA sanctioned sports sponsored by the University of Houston. It was established to serve as a primary support group for all intercollegiate athletic endeavors of the University.  The “H” Association annually supports Cougar Pride by providing scholarship funds and assisting in securing athletic senior awards.

Of the 60 Corbin J. Robertson Society members, eight whom sponsored graduating seniors as part of their contributions to Cougar Pride, were present to take in the memorable morning.

The Corbin J. Robertson Society is named for one of the major benefactors of Houston Athletics over the past half-century, Corbin J. Robertson.  Each member underwrites the current cost of one full athletic scholarship ($20,000). Society members have the privilege of being assigned a student-athlete and have opportunities to nurture a personal relationship with that student during his or her collegiate career.

For additional information on Corbin J. Robertson Society, please call Cougar Pride at (713) 743-GoUH (4684).

For more information on becoming a valued supporter of Houston Athletics, consider joining Cougar Pride. CLICK HERE for more information on how to contribute to the success of Houston’s student-athletes.



Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago