C-USA Baseball Championship Schedule Set; Cougars to Play as No. 6 Seed

Head Coach Todd Whitting

May 18, 2013

HOUSTON - The Conference USA Baseball Championship schedule is set and Houston will play as the No. 6 seed, paired with No. 2 Southern Miss, No. 3 East Carolina and No. 7 Tulane at Rice's Reckling Park this week.
Houston's designated day off will be Wednesday as the Cougars will open play on Thursday at 11 a.m. vs. East Carolina. Houston will then play Southern Miss at 3 p.m. Friday and Tulane at 3 p.m. Saturday.
Houston garnered series wins over all three teams in its scheduled pod. The Cougars earned a 3-0 sweep of East Carolina at home, while taking 2-of-3 at Tulane and this past weekend vs. Southern Miss.
Pod 1 (Seeds 1, 4 5, and 8)
Rice, Memphis, UCF, UAB
Pod 2 (Seeds 2, 3 6, and 7)
Southern Miss, East Carolina, Houston, Tulane
Wednesday, May 22
Game 1 (5) UCF vs. (4) Memphis                            11:00a
Game 2 (7) Tulane vs. (2) Southern Miss                  3:00p
Game 3 (8) UAB vs. (1) Rice                                    7:00p
Thursday, May 23
Game 4 (6) Houston vs. (3) East Carolina         11:00a
Game 5 (8) UAB vs. (4) Memphis                             3:00p
Game 6 (5) UCF vs. (1) Rice                                    7:00p
Friday, May 24
Game 7 (7) Tulane vs. (3) East Carolina                  11:00a
Game 8 (6) Houston vs. (2) Southern Miss         3:00p
Game 9 (8) UAB vs. (5) UCF                                    7:00p
Saturday, May 25
Game 10 (4) Memphis vs. (1) Rice                          11:00a
Game 11 (7) Tulane vs. (6) Houston                   3:00p
Game 12 (3) East Carolina vs. (2) Southern Miss       7:00p
Sunday, May 26 (televised by CBS Sports Network)
Championship Game                                               1:00p
All Times Central
The 2013 Conference USA Championship will feature the top eight teams in regular-season league play. Those eight will be split into two four-team pools (or pods), with the winner of each pod playing in a single championship game. Teams are assigned pods based on seed, which are determined by the order of finish in regular-season conference play.
Each team is guaranteed to play three games. Teams in each pod will play all three other teams in its pod. The team with the best composite record in each pod advances to the championship game. Two-way ties in a pod will be broken by head-to-head play. In the case of a three-way tie, the highest seed will advance.



For ticket information or to purchase, CLICK HERE.

Each game of the championship from Wednesday through Saturday will be streamed live on the C-USA Digital Network. The championship game of the tournament on Sunday, May 26 will be televised live by CBS Sports Network, beginning at 1 p.m. CDT. The tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

To learn more about the C-USA Digital Network, CLICK HERE.

•   C-USA Digital Network Monthly - $14.95
•   C-USA Digital Network Yearly - $119.95
•   Subscribe Now to C-USA Digital Network

Note: If you're currently a subscriber to an All-Access product at a member institution and would like to upgrade your subscription to C-USA Digital Network, you'll need to cancel your current subscription and purchase a C-USA Digital Network subscription package separately.

Stay up to date with all Houston Baseball news and highlights by following us on Twitter @UHCougarBB or on Facebook at /HoustonCougarBaseball. Fans can also follow head coach Todd Whitting @toddwhitting on Twitter.

Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago