Michael Pyeatt Honored on C-USA Baseball All-Freshman Team

Michael Pyeatt

May 22, 2012

HOUSTON--For his stellar play in his debut season, University of Houston freshman outfielder Michael Pyeatt was named to the Conference USA Baseball All-Freshman Team, announced by the league's office on Tuesday afternoon.

Pyeatt, a native of Lake Jackson, Texas, led Houston during the regular season with a .337 average and a .362 clip in conference play. The left fielder appeared in 23 games with 21 starts and has started the last 15 conference contests.  He notched a career-best four hits and two runs scored in a win over Tulane on May 11, while also producing a career-high four RBI on three hits against Memphis last weekend.

Pyeatt enters the C-USA Championship with a six-game active hitting streak and ranks third on the team in slugging percentage (.373) and on-base percentage (.385). 

"I am extremely proud of Michael and he is well deserving of this award. He has fought his way into the starting lineup and maintained a level of excellence during the conference schedule," said head coach Todd Whitting.

Pyeatt is the second straight All-Freshman Team honoree under Whitting as sophomore Landon Appling was honored for his play in 2011.

2012 C-USA Baseball All-Freshman Team
Michael Pyeatt Outfielder, Houston
Sergio Leon Infielder, Marshall
Ford Stainback Infielder, Rice
Jeff Schalk Outfielder, UAB
Michael Sterling Outfielder, Southern Miss
Mason Robbins Outfielder/P, Southern Miss
Jeff Hoffman Pitcher, East Carolina
Jordan Stephens Pitcher, Rice
Jake Drehoff Pitcher, Southern Miss
Bradley Roney Pitcher, Southern Miss
Alex Massey Pitcher, Tulane
Eric Scoglund Pitcher, UCF

Conference USA also honored its First and Second Team All-Conference honorees, while recognizing Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year.

Player of the Year: Jacob Wilson, 3B, Memphis
Coach of the Year: Wayne Graham, Rice
Pitcher of the Year: Matthew Reckling, Rice
Newcomer of the Year: Andrew Pierce, P, Southern Miss
Freshman of the Year: Mason Robbins, P, Southern Miss

First Team All-C-USA: DJ Hicks (UCF), Christian Stringer (Rice), Jacob Wilson (Memphis), John Wooten (ECU), Brandon Boudreaux (Tulane), Adam McClain (Memphis), Jeremy Rathjen (Rice), Jeremy Schaffer (Tulane), JT Chargois (Rice), Kevin Brandt (ECU), Dan Langfield (Memphis), Andrew Pierce (Southern Miss), Matthew Reckling (Rice), Joe Rogers (UCF).

Second Team All-C-USA: Ashley Graeter (Southern Miss), Brennan Middleton (Tulane), Travis Shreve (UCF), Corey Thompson (ECU), Alex Friedrich (UCF), Ronnie Richardson (UCF), Nick Schneeberger (Tulane), Zach Wright (ECU), Drew Reynolds (ECU), Jharel Cotton (ECU), Ben Lively (UCF), Sam Moll (Memphis), David Napoli (Tulane), DJ Ponder (Tulane).

Houston will open play in the C-USA Championship on Wednesday against top-seeded Rice at 3 p.m. at Trustmark Park in Pearl, Miss.





Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago