Lincoln Honored as C-USA Co-Male Athlete of the Year

July 11, 2006

HOUSTON - University of Houston junior righthander/DH Brad Lincoln added another impressive honor to his trophy case Tuesday afternoon when he was named the Conference USA Co-Male Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced.

Lincoln and Memphis running back DeAngelo Williams shared the men's honor, while Tulsa women's basketball player Jillian Robbins was named the C-USA Female Athlete of the Year.

Tuesday's honor was only the latest in a string of awards for Lincoln. The Clute, Texas, native already has received the Dick Howser Trophy and the Brooks Wallace Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate baseball player. He also was named the National Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association/Rawlings and Rivals.com.

He became the first player in both UH and Conference USA history to be honored as a baseball national player of the year.

Lincoln also is one of four finalists for the Roger Clemens Award, presented to the nation's top collegiate pitcher. That honor will be presented Wednesday at the Marriott Westchase Hotel in Houston.

Lincoln, who was a 2006 consensus First-Team All-American, emerged as one of the nation's finest all-around players in 2006. He compiled a sparkling 12-2 record with a 1.69 ERA and 152 strikeouts in 127.2 innings of work. Those numbers were even better in C-USA games only where he assembled a 7-0 record with a 1.28 ERA.

Lincoln's strikeout total ranked as the third-best mark in UH single-season history and moved him into third in UH career history with 293 punchouts.

He was named a C-USA Pitcher of the Week four times during the regular season and was honored as the Pro-Line Cap National Pitcher of the Week after tossing a five-hit shutout with nine strikeouts in the series opener at No. 1 Rice on May 12.

He was honored as the C-USA Pitcher of the Year while also being named to the league's First Team and was recognized at DH on the C-USA All-Tournament Team for his performance at the plate.

Lincoln was one of the Cougars' leading hitters all season. In 2006, he compiled a .295 batting average with 14 home runs and a team-leading 53 RBIs. His three-run walk-off homer in the bottom of the 10th inning lifted the Cougars to an 11-10 win over Texas-San Antonio in the season on opener on Feb. 7.

With his pitching and offensive numbers, Lincoln ranked among the Top 10 C-USA individual leaders in five of the six Triple Crown categories for the majority of the 2006 season.

Lincoln blasted a home run and earned a pitching win in games at UC Irvine and against C-USA rival Tulane earlier this season. With that, he joined current San Diego Padre pitcher Woody Williams as the only players to hit a home run and collect a win from the mound in the same game twice during their careers.

Lincoln became the first player in both school and Conference USA history to be taken among the Top 10 picks of Major League Baseball's amateur draft June 6 when he was selected at No. 4 by the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Lincoln also became the first consensus All-American since righthander Brad Sullivan in 2002 and the first First-Team All-American since Ryan Wagner in 2003.

Robbins led Tulsa to the best season in school history with a 26-6 overall record, Conference USA regular season and tournament titles and the team's first NCAA Tournament berth and victory. The junior forward garnered the league's top individual awards, being named C-USA Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Tournament MVP and First Team All-Conference USA.

A consensus All-American, Williams closed out his career as the most decorated player in Memphis football history. He led the Tigers to their third straight bowl appearance for the first time in school history, winning the Motor City Bowl. Williams was named the Conference USA Offensive Player of the Year for the third consecutive season after leading the nation in rushing at 178.6 yards per game.

The 2005-06 athletic season marked the third time that C-USA has honored Male and Female Athletes of the Year. The award is based solely on athletic achievement during an academic year and the winners are determined through a vote by the league's Athletic Directors. TCU captured both of the 2004-05 awards, with women's basketball player Sandora Irvin and baseball player Lance Broadway earning the honors. The 2003-04 winners were Houston women's basketball player Chandi Jones and Tulane men's tennis player Michael Kogan.



Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago