TaShawn Thomas, Joseph Young Earn Places on USBWA All-District Team

    Sophomore forward TaShawn Thomas
    Sophomore forward TaShawn Thomas
    Men's Basketball Home


    Ticket Information

    Hofheinz Pavilion

    Houston Men's Hoops on Facebook

    Follow Houston Men's Hoops on Twitter

    Men’s Hoops Hits the Road to Face Tulsa

    Men's Basketball Rallies to Upset No. 12 SMU, 71-68

    Men’s Basketball Sweeps American Weekly Honors


    CBSSports.com Hoops

    Top 25 Rankings


    March 13, 2013

    TULSA, Okla. - Honors continued to pour in recently for University of Houston Men's Basketball sophomore forward TaShawn Thomas and sophomore guard Joseph Young.

    The Cougar duo recently was named to the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District VII Team. Houston joined Arkansas and Baylor as the only teams with multiple student-athletes named to the postseason team, which is comprised from players from all leagues in Texas, Arkansas and Louisiana.

    These are just the latest honors for Thomas and Young. Earlier this week, Thomas was named to the All-Conference USA First Team and earned a place on the league's All-Defensive Team. Young was selected as a member of the league's Third Team

    Thomas emerged as one of the league's top players with 16.9 points and 9.4 rebounds per game. He is one of only two players in the league to be ranked among the top five in both scoring and rebounding and also stands among the leaders in field goal percentage, defensive rebounds and blocked shots per game.

    He ranks second in the league with 12 double-doubles this season and has posted 11 20-point games this season, including a career-high 31 in the Cougars' triple-overtime loss at Tulsa on Feb. 16.

    Young has been a consistent offensive force for Houston as a redshirt sophomore. After posting a career-high 32 points and converting an old-fashioned 3-point play with just two seconds remaining in Houston's 96-94 win at Tulane on Saturday, he reclaimed the C-USA individual scoring lead and paces C-USA and the Cougars with 18.54 points per game.

    Entering this week's C-USA Championship, he has scored at least 20 points in each of the last six games and ranks among the C-USA leaders in free throw percentage, 3-point field goals made per game and 3-point field goal percentage.

    Thomas, Young and their Cougar teammates return to action at 6 p.m., Wednesday, when they meet No. 11 seed Rice inside the BOK Center during the C-USA Championship First Round.


    Fans can hear Wednesday's game live on SportsTalk 790 with Tom Franklin calling the play-by-play action and Houston legend and Basketball Hall of Famer Elvin Hayes providing analysis. The pregame show is slated to begin at 5:45 p.m., Wednesday.

    Fans can watch Wednesday's game live on the Conference USA Digital Network. Fans can hear the audio stream at UHCougars.com. Fans MUST sign up on the C-USA Digital Network to watch Wednesday's First-Round game. A subscription to Cougar All-Access does NOT provide accessibility to the C-USA Digital Network.

    C-USA Digital Network combines streaming audio and video content from all 12 member institutions with exclusive Conference USA-produced content to offer the most online video coverage of Conference USA athletics anywhere in the world. C-USA Digital Network features live game broadcasts, exclusive behind-the-scenes video, game highlights, original programming and press conferences from 18 men's and women's sports across Conference USA, with additional coverage from conference postseason tournaments and events.

    Fans can have access to all of this great content with a monthly, renewing subscription that's available for $14.95 each month. Fans looking for greater value can purchase an Annual renewing package for $119.95, for a total savings of $59.

    Fans can follow live stats by clicking the GameTracker link or by clicking here.


    Player of the Year: Pierre Jackson, Baylor

    Coach of the Year: Michael White, Louisiana Tech

    All-District Team
    TaShawn Thomas, Houston
    Joseph Young, Houston

    Isaiah Austin, Baylor 

    Fred Hunter, Nicholls State
 Pierre Jackson, Baylor

    Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU

    Marshawn Powell, Arkansas

    Taylor Smith, Stephen F. Austin

    Elston Turner, Texas A&M

    B.J. Young, Arkansas

    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image