Hofheinz Pavilion to play host to College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships

March 17, 2011

HOUSTON - Some of the nation's top college basketball slam dunkers and 3-point shooters will square off during the 23rd Annual College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships on Thursday, March 31, in Hofheinz Pavilion.

Twenty-four of the best in college basketball from the 2010-11 season will compete in the Men's 3-Point Shooting Championship, the State Farm Women's 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Mercedes-Benz Battle of the Champions and the Denny's Slam Dunk Competition.

The program begins at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, March 31, with doors opening at 5:30 p.m. The program will air later that night on ESPN2, beginning at 7 p.m. Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes, Brad Nessler and Holly Rowe will call all the action from the star-studded event.

Participants will be announced soon. The final roster spot will be determined by fan vote and announced March 29.

Reserved seating tickets are available now and cost $15 for adults and $10 for youth (ages 3 to high school)

UH season-ticket holders for any sport from Fall 2010 to Spring 2011 or Cougar Pride members in 2010 or 2011 campaigns can purchase adult tickets for only $12 and youth tickets for only $7.

Cougar supporters can receive the discounted rate by visiting the Athletics Ticket Office on the first floor of the Athletics/Alumni Center, by calling 713-GO-COOGS (462-6647) or by receiving the Athletics Department's weekly e-mail and using the special promo code on-line (valid until 5 p.m., March 31).

UH faculty staff and students can buy tickets for only $7 but must purchase in-person with a valid photo UH ID card.



Watch Houston Video
Oklahoma State
at Oklahoma State
Stillwater, Okla.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago