Slam Dunk Field Announced for College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships

March 29, 2011

HOUSTON - Illinois College's Jacob Tucker recently won the Facebook vote to claim the lone non-Division I spot in the 23rd Annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships on Thursday in Hofheinz Pavilion.

Tucker, a 5-11 player, defeated Rico Cunningham from Lee University (Tenn.) with 88 percent of the Facebook fan vote.

Tucker will compete against seven other players in the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship: Gilbert Brown (Pittsburgh); Justin Burrell (St. John's); Will Coleman (Memphis); Justin Tubbs (East Tennessee State); Billy White (San Diego State); Darnell Wilks (Cincinnati) and John Williams (UNC Asheville).

The program begins at 6:30 p.m., Thursday with doors opening at 5:30 p.m. The program will air at 8 p.m., Thursday, on ESPN2, with Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes, Brad Nessler and Holly Rowe calling all the action. The program will re-air numerous times on ESPN networks.

The field for the 3-Point Shooting Championships will be announced Wednesday.

The State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships program consists of the Mercedes-Benz Men's 3-Point Shooting Championship, State Farm Women's 3-Point Shooting Championship, Battle of the Champions and the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship.

FRS Healthy Performance, Skechers, TD Ameritrade and U.S. Marines are participating sponsors in the event.

Reserved seating tickets are available now and cost $15 for adults and $10 for youth (ages 3 to high school)

UH season-ticket holders for any sport from Fall 2010 to Spring 2011 or Cougar Pride members in 2010 or 2011 campaigns can purchase adult tickets for only $12 and youth tickets for only $7.

Cougar supporters can receive the discounted rate by visiting the Athletics Ticket Office on the first floor of the Athletics/Alumni Center, by calling 713-GO-COOGS (462-6647) or by receiving the Athletics Department's weekly e-mail and using the special promo code on-line (valid until 5 p.m., March 31).



UH faculty staff and students can buy tickets for only $7 but must purchase in-person with a valid photo UH ID card.

Five celebrity judges will determine the winner of the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship. That group includes Hall of Famer and second-leading scorer in NBA history Karl Malone; Hall of Famer and former Houston Rocket Calvin Murphy; 2008 first-round NBA draft pick and Houston Rocket Courtney Lee; former Kentucky standout, current Houston Rocket and 2005 College Slam Dunk participant Chuck Hayes; and two-time Pro-Bowl participant and former Defensive Rookie of the Year, Houston Texan DeMeco Ryans.

Previous event participants include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Wes Matthews (Marquette), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Aaron Brooks (Oregon), Desmond Mason (Oklahoma State), Chuck Hayes (Kentucky), Scoonie Penn (Ohio State), Damon Stoudamire (Arizona), Kyle Korver (Creighton), Sonny Weems (Arkansas), Bryce Drew (Valparaiso), A.J. Guyton (Indiana), Chris Quinn (Notre Dame), Katie Gearlds (Purdue), Jennifer Jacoby (Purdue), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State) and Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers).

For 25 years, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment based marketing platforms. Intersport provides turnkey solutions for global brands combining two award-winning divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television/Digital Programming & Production.

Intersport's Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television Programming & Production staffs team up to organize Intersport's seven owned and operated properties: All-Star Football Challenge, College Home Run Derby, College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, National High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, Kirk Herbstreit National Kickoff Classic, Women's Basketball Tip-Off Classic and Under Armour High School All-America Football Game.

There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago