3-Point Field Announced for College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships

March 30, 2011

HOUSTON - University of Houston senior guard Brittney Scott will represent the Cougars during the women's 3-point competition at the 23rd annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships on Thursday in Hofheinz Pavilion.

Scott will compete against seven other players in the State Farm Women's 3-Point Shooting Championship: Kelsey Bolte (Iowa State); Brittany Johnson (Ohio State); Tatiyiana McMorris (Marquette); Cerie Mosgrove (Massachusetts); Sam Quigley (DePaul); Jaleesa Ross (Fresno State) and Courtney Ward (Florida State).

The men's field for the Mercedes-Benz Men's 3-Point Shooting Championship includes LaceDarius Dunn (Baylor); Jacob Pullen (Kansas State); Drew Morningstar (Kansas); Andrew Goudelock (College of Charleston); Dwight Hardy (St. John's); Ravern Johnson (Mississippi State); Mickey McConnell (St. Mary's (Calif.)) and Chris Warren (Mississippi).

The program begins at 6:30 p.m., Thursday with doors opening at 5:30 p.m. The program will air at 8 p.m., Thursday, on ESPN2, with Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes, Brad Nessler and Holly Rowe calling all the action. The program will re-air numerous times on ESPN networks.

Following the men's and women's competitions, the winner from each event will participate in a Battle of the Champions to crown an overall 3-point winner.

ABOUT Brittney Scott
Scott, who just wrapped up her record-breaking career at Houston, is one of the most prolific 3-point shooters in school history. The Orange, Texas, native shattered Chandi Jones' all-time 3-point mark on Jan. 20 at UAB, and finished her career with 226 made treys, which also ranks sixth in Conference USA history.



Scott led the Cougars this season with 15.8 points per game and drained 84 long-range bombs at a 39-percent clip. The 84 3-pointers tied her own mark during the 2009-10 season and ranks second for a single season in Houston history.

Scott also finished her memorable career ranking first in 3-point attempts (642), second in free-throw percentage (79.9), third in 3-point percentage (35.2) and field goal attempts (1,323), fourth in games started (93) and minutes played (3,279), fifth in made free-throws (318), sixth in free-throw attempts (398), seventh in points scored (1,522) and ninth in made field goals (489).

Reserved seating tickets are available now and cost $15 for adults and $10 for youth (ages 3 to high school)

UH season-ticket holders for any sport from Fall 2010 to Spring 2011 or Cougar Pride members in 2010 or 2011 campaigns can purchase adult tickets for only $12 and youth tickets for only $7.

Cougar supporters can receive the discounted rate by visiting the Athletics Ticket Office on the first floor of the Athletics/Alumni Center, by calling 713-GO-COOGS (462-6647) or by receiving the Athletics Department's weekly e-mail and using the special promo code on-line (valid until 5 p.m., March 31).

UH faculty staff and students can buy tickets for only $7 but must purchase in-person with a valid photo UH ID card.

Illinois College's Jacob Tucker recently won the Facebook vote to claim the lone non-Division I spot in the Slam Dunk Championship.

Tucker will compete against seven other players in the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship: Gilbert Brown (Pittsburgh); Justin Burrell (St. John's); Will Coleman (Memphis); Justin Tubbs (East Tennessee State); Billy White (San Diego State); Darnell Wilks (Cincinnati) and John Williams (UNC Asheville).

FRS Healthy Performance, Skechers, TD Ameritrade and U.S. Marines are participating sponsors in the event.

Five celebrity judges will determine the winner of the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship. That group includes Hall of Famer and second-leading scorer in NBA history Karl Malone; Hall of Famer and former Houston Rocket Calvin Murphy; 2008 first-round NBA draft pick and Houston Rocket Courtney Lee; former Kentucky standout, current Houston Rocket and 2005 College Slam Dunk participant Chuck Hayes; and two-time Pro-Bowl participant and former Defensive Rookie of the Year, Houston Texan DeMeco Ryans.

Previous event participants include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Wes Matthews (Marquette), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Aaron Brooks (Oregon), Desmond Mason (Oklahoma State), Chuck Hayes (Kentucky), Scoonie Penn (Ohio State), Damon Stoudamire (Arizona), Kyle Korver (Creighton), Sonny Weems (Arkansas), Bryce Drew (Valparaiso), A.J. Guyton (Indiana), Chris Quinn (Notre Dame), Katie Gearlds (Purdue), Jennifer Jacoby (Purdue), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State) and Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers).

For 25 years, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment based marketing platforms. Intersport provides turnkey solutions for global brands combining two award-winning divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television/Digital Programming & Production.

Intersport's Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television Programming & Production staffs team up to organize Intersport's seven owned and operated properties: All-Star Football Challenge, College Home Run Derby, College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, National High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, Kirk Herbstreit National Kickoff Classic, Women's Basketball Tip-Off Classic and Under Armour High School All-America Football Game.

There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago