Men's Hoops Signee TaShawn Thomas to Compete in THSCA All-Star Game

Freshman forward TaShawn Thomas

July 22, 2011

HOUSTON - University of Houston men's basketball signee TaShawn Thomas closes out his award-winning high school career Monday when he competes during the Texas High School Coaches Association All-Star Game presented by Fuddruckers.

The game tips off at 7:30 p.m., Monday, at TCU's Daniel-Meyer Coliseum. Tickets will be available at the door for only $10 each. Fans also should check their local listings to see the game on Fox Sports Southwest.

Thomas will compete for the North Team, coached by The Colony High's Cleve Ryan, during the 67th annual event. As a prep star at Killeen High, he ranked among the nation's top recruits.

Thomas was picked as the No. 27 power forward nationally by Scout.com and was ranked No. 22 by Rivals.com in the state of Texas.

As a senior in 2010-11, he averaged 21.0 points, 13.0 rebounds and 4.0 blocks per game on the way to being named the All-Area and District Most Valuable Player for the second straight season.

Thomas chose Houston over Alabama, Memphis, California, Colorado, Colorado State and Temple. He is one of eight Cougars who will be making their debuts in the Scarlet and White in 2011-12.

Fort Bend Bush High coach and former Texas Southern head coach Ronnie Courtney will lead the South Team.

Deposits for 2011-12 season tickets are now being taken in the Houston Athletics Ticket Office. Fans can get an early jump on purchasing their season tickets with a $75 deposit by visiting the Athletics Ticket Office, located on the first floor of the Athletics/Alumni Center.

Fans also can make their deposits by calling 713-GO-COOGS (462-6647) or by visiting UHCougars.com and clicking the Tickets tab and following the appropriate links.

A year ago, the Cougars recorded their seventh straight season with at least 10 wins inside the friendly confines of Hofheinz Pavilion. It was the first time the Cougars and their fans accomplished that feat since the facility opened in 1969 with nine consecutive 10-win seasons.



There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago