Gray Named to Jerry West Award Watch List

Oct. 17, 2017

HOUSTON -- University of Houston senior guard Rob Gray continued to receive preseason honors Tuesday when he was named to the Watch List for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award.

Gray was one of 20 guards to be selected nationally by a national committee of top college basketball personnel.

Earlier this week, Gray was named to the Preseason All-American Athletic Conference First Team. In 2016-17, Gray led the Cougars and the American Athletic Conference with 20.6 points per game, becoming Houston's eighth conference scoring champion in school history and the first since Aubrey Coleman led the nation in 2010.

The Forest City, N.C., native was named to the All-American Athletic Conference First Team and was selected to the USBWA All-District VII Team and the NABC All-District 25 Second Team.

Gray was named to the Gulf Coast Showcase All-Tournament Team after leading Houston to its first regular-season tournament title since 1991 and was a two-time American Athletic Conference Player of the Week selection.

Gray became the 46th player in school history to score more than 1,000 points during his Cougar career and was the 12th-fastest player to reach that milestone.

By mid-February, the Jerry West Award Watch List will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Jerry West and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner of the 2018 Jerry West Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show, presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles on April 6. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Gray was joined on the Watch List by Allonzo Trier (Arizona), Mustapha Heron (Arizona), Jerome Robinson (Boston College), TJ Haws (BYU), Marcus Foster (Creighton), Grayson Allen (Duke), KeVaughn Allen (Florida), MJ Walker (Florida State), Malik Newman (Kansas), Hamidou Diallo (Kentucky), Lonnie Walker (Miami (Fla.)), Quinndary Weatherspoon (Mississippi State), E.C. Matthews (Rhode Island), Khadeen Carrington (Seton Hall), Shamorie Ponds (St. John's), Tyus Battle (Syracuse), Andrew Jones (Texas), De'Anthony Melton (USC) and Daxter Miles Jr. (West Virginia).

Season tickets for 15 regular-season games and a Nov. 5 exhibition against Angelo State inside H&PE Arena on the campus of Texas Southern begin as low as $100. Fans can purchase season tickets online at UHCougars.com/tickets or by calling the Athletics Ticket Office at 713-GO-COOGS (462-6647).
JOIN the 50-50-CLUB
Fans are invited to join the 50-50 Club to support Houston Men's Basketball. 50-50 Club members help fund program necessities and enhance the experience for our student-athletes.

Fans who join the 50-50 Club will receive embroidered team apparel, a signed basketball, invitations to practice, a tour of the $25 million Guy V. Lewis Development Facility, regular updates about the program and much more.

To join the 50-50 Club, fans can call 713-743-9742 or email UHMensBasketball@uh.edu. For more information about the 50-50 Club, levels of giving and benefits, fans can click here.

Fans can receive the latest news and notes by following @UHCougarMBK on Twitter. Fans also can discuss the latest Houston Men's Basketball news and notes on the team's Facebook page by clicking LIKE at HoustonCougarMensHoops or by visiting the team's Instagram page at UHCougarMBK.



Watch Houston Video
Oklahoma State
at Oklahoma State
Stillwater, Okla.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago