Guy. V. Lewis Inducted Into College Basketball Hall of Fame

Nov. 19, 2007

Kansas City, Kan.- - Former University of Houston head coach Guy V. Lewis was among 12 former collegiate players and coaches inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame last Sunday night.

The ceremony was held at the new College Basketball Experience (CBE), which covers over 40,000 square feet on two floors and provides a multi-faceted interactive experience for college basketball fans. The CBE shares a common lobby with the new Sprint Center and is the home for the College Basketball Hall of Fame.

Lewis, who won 592 games and led Houston 27 straight winning seasons, 14 NCAA Tournaments and five NCAA Final Four appearances, was inducted along with former coaches Norm Stewart "Lefty" Driesell and Vic Bubbas.

The inducted players included Duke standout and major league baseball star Dick Groat, three-time Tennessee State All-American guard Dick Barnett and Notre Dame standout Austin Carr.

In addition to those seven coaches and players, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar was inducted as a Founding Class Player, and the founding class coaches included Phog Allen, Adolph Rupp, Henry Iba and John McClendon.

The National College Basketball Hall of Fame was formed in 2006 to honor college players, coaches and contributors who enjoyed great college careers and helped write the history of college basketball. The original class included college players, coaches and contributors already part of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Dean Smith, Oscar Robertson, Bill Russell, John Wooden and Dr. James Naismith were chosen to represent the class in the first induction ceremony on Nov. 17, 2006.



There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago