Legendary Coach Bill Yeoman Inducted Into The College Football Hall Of Fame

HOUSTON, Texas - A week following his induction into the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame, University of Houston legendary football coach Bill Yeoman received the highest honor at the collegiate level and today was named as a member of the Division IA College Football Hall of Fame Class.

Yeoman, who coached the Cougars for a remarkable 25 seasons from 1962-86, becomes the first representative from the University of Houston to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. His 160 victories are the most in Houston's history and rank 51st on the NCAA all-time wins list.

"It is a very delightful experience that I am enjoying tremendously, and I'm honored," Yeoman said. "I just think it's great. It's [earning honor] something that I think most guys have in the back of their heads when they start out and always kind of hope or wish for, but when it comes to fruition, it's great."

Yeoman is the man responsible for turning the University of Houston football program from relative obscurity in to a national prominence in two-and-a-half decades. He guided the Cougars to four SWC championships and 11 bowl games, posting a 6-4-1 mark in postseason competition. The Cougars had 17 winning seasons under Yeoman, including nine campaigns with at least eight victories. UH finished nationally ranked 11 times, concluding the 1976 season with its highest ever national ranking of fourth by both the Associated Press and United Press International.

Well known as an innovator on the playing field, Yeoman's greatest legacy may be the invention of the Veer Offense, an offense that gave opponents fits throughout his coaching years and had a tremendous impact not only in the Southwest Conference but the entire nation as well.

In 1985, Yeoman was inducted into the Southwest Conference Hall of Honor and this past March was inducted into the Southwestern Bell Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame.

Joining Yeoman in this year's class among the coaching ranks are Oklahoma's Baryy Switzer and Baylor's Grant Teaff along with 15 players, including Jon Arnett (USC), Kevin Butler (Georgia), Anthony Carter (Michigan), Dick Duden (Navy), Tim Green (Syracuse), Ralph Guglielmi (Notre Dame), John Hicks (Ohio State), Keith Jackson (Oklahoma), Terry Kinard (Clemson), D.D. Lewis (Mississippi State), Donald McCauley (North Carolina) John Outland (Kansas, Pennsylvania), Glenn Ressler (Penn State), Brad Van Pelt (Michigan State) and and Steve Young (BYU).

The annual National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Banquet honoring this year's inductees will be held December 11, 2001, at the Waldorf Hotel in New York City. Details of the induction ceremony, which is expected to take place this summer in South Bend, Indiana, where the Hall of Fame is located, are forthcoming.



Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago