Doty Named to 2006 Dave Rimington Trophy Watch List

May 22, 2006

DALLAS - The Dave Rimington Trophy released its spring watch list for top collegiate centers for the 2006 season on May 19 and Houston senior center Sterling Doty was one of 39 centers recognized.

This season marks the seventh year of the Rimington Trophy recognizing the most outstanding center in college football and the first as a Regular Member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

The spring watch list consists of thirty-nine of college football's top men in the middle and will be updated once prior to the beginning of the season. Five Sophomores, eleven Juniors and twenty-three Seniors make up the very strong field.

"With only one returning finalist (Dan Mozes, West Virginia) from last season the competition will be wide open which will certainly make for an exciting race," Dave Rimington said. "Center is a very difficult position to evaluate and of course play so I wish all of the candidates and their respective teams a successful season."

Doty was one of nine players to start in all 12 games a season ago for the Cougars and was part of a consistent offensive line that started every game. He was instrumental opening holes for Ryan Gilbert, a 1,000-yard rusher, and protected Kevin Kolb, a 3000-yard passer, last season.

The seven year old trophy is presented by Canon, MidAmerican Energy Holdings, USA and Black Decker. The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, Michigan's David Baas (2004 co-winner), LSU's Ben Wilkerson (2004 co-winner), Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, Miami's Brett Romberg, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, and Nebraska's Dominic Raiola are past recipients. Esiason created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All- America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 during which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's premiere college interior lineman.

The winner is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All America Teams including:
* American Football Coaches Association
* Walter Camp Foundation
* Sporting News
* Football Writers Association of America
The winner will be honored at the awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska, in January of 2007.

2006 Spring Rimington Trophy Watch List
Pete Bier (Army)
Mark Bihl (Michigan)
Antoine Caldwell (Alabama)
Aaron Danenhauer (Tulsa)
Robby D'Angelo (Southern Miss)
Kyle DeVan (Oregon State)
Sterling Doty (Houston)
Robby Felix (UTEP)
Mark Fenton (Colorado)
Dustin Fry (Clemson)
Cedric Gagne-Marcoux (UCF)
Leroy Harris (North Carolina State)
Tanner Jenkins (Arkansas State)
Brandon Jones (Texas Tech)
Nick Jones (Georgia)
Ryan Kalil (Southern Cal)
Jason Karcher (Wyoming)
Adam Korby (Idaho)
Robbie Krutilla (Western Michigan)
Doug Legursky (Marshall)
Kory Lichtensteiger (Bowling Green)
Enoka Lucas (Oregon)
Jonathan Luigs (Arkansas)
Kurt Mann (Nebraska)
Dan Mozes (West Virginia)
Dave Ochoa (Kansas)
James Rossi (Navy)
Samson Satele (Hawaii)
Lyle Sendlein (Texas)
Stephen Schuh (Memphis)
Adam Spieker (Missouri)
Darnell Stapleton (Rutgers)
Scott Stephenson (Iowa State)
John Sullivan (Notre Dame)
Cody Wallace (Texas)
Chris White (South Carolina)
Anthony Wollschlager (Miami)
Eric Wood (Louisville)
Kyle Young (Fresno State)



Watch Houston Video
Fresno State
vs Fresno State
Honolulu, Hawai'i
7:30 PM




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago