Center Chris Thompson Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Senior center Chris Thompson

July 8, 2011

UH vs. UCLA • Sept. 3 • 2:30 p.m. • Robertson Stadium

Facebook Twitter
HOUSTON - University of Houston senior center Chris Thompson was named to the Outland Trophy Watch List on Friday afternoon by the Football Writers Association of America.

Thompson was one of 65 players nationally to be named to the list, which is awarded to the best interior lineman in college football.

The Hitchcock, Texas, native has been a fixture on the Cougars' offensive front since 2008. A year ago, he played a key role in helping lead the Cougar offense to top-15 national rankings in passing offense, total offense and scoring offense.

In guiding the Cougars to more than 39 points, 450 total yards and 325 passing yards per game for the third straight season, Thompson was named to the 2010 All-Conference USA First Team for the first time in his career.

In late June, Thompson was honored as a preseason pick on the All-Texas Offense First Team by Dave Campbell's Texas Football magazine.

PRESEASON HONOREES: Thompson became the third Cougar this week to be named to a national watch list.

On Monday, senior quarterback Case Keenum was named to the Watch List for the Maxwell Award, given annually to the nation's top offensive player. On Thursday, senior Patrick Edwards was one of 75 players nationally named to the Watch List for the Biletnikoff Award, presented to the country's top receiver.

COACHES' ROAD TOUR: Fans can catch their favorite coaches and UH administrators in areas around Houston during the 2011 Coaches' Road Tour. After a standing-room only event in Pearland, UH will host fans at Ragin Cajun (9600 Westheimer) on July 20 and at Loggia (2248 Texas Dr.) in Sugar Land on July 27. Both events begin at 6:30 p.m.

SEASON TICKETS ON SALE: Season tickets for the 2011 season are currently on sale for both renewals and new orders. Tickets options start as low as $130 and include the Family Fun Plan, which includes two adult and two youth South End Zone General Admission Season tickets for only $275. Ticket prices can be found at by visiting UHCougars.com and clicking the Tickets tab or by clicking here.

OUTLAND TROPHY: The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 21. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 66th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held Jan. 12, 2012, in Omaha, Neb.

Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State, OT
Jeff Allen, Illinois, OT
Don Barclay, West Virginia, OT
Chris Barker, Nevada, G
Kelvin Beachum, SMU, OT
Tony Bergstrom, Utah, OT
Mike Brewster, Ohio State, C
James Brown, Troy, OT
Jared Crick, Nebraska, DT
Andrew Datko, Florida State, OT
David DeCastro, Stanford, G
Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech, OT
Lonnie Edwards, Texas Tech, G
Joel Foreman, Michigan State, G
Marcus Forston, Miami, DT
Dalton Freeman, Clemson, C
Garth Gerhart, Arizona State, C
Cordy Glenn, Georgia, OT
Ben Habern, Oklahoma, C
Braden Hansen, BYU, G
Logan Harrell, Fresno State, DT
Dan Hoch, Missouri, OT
Khaled Holmes, USC, C
Jaye Howard, Florida, DT
Malik Jackson, Tennessee, DT
Chris Jacobson, Pittsburgh, G
T.J. Johnson, South Carolina, C
Barrett Jones, Alabama, G
Ben Jones, Georgia, C
Matt Kalil, USC, OT
Jonathan Martin, Stanford, OT
Mike Martin, Michigan, DT
Zack Martin, Notre Dame, OT
Ryan Miller, Colorado, G
David Molk, Michigan, C
Al Netter, Northwestern, OT
Lucas Nix, Pittsburgh, OT
Xavier Nixon, Florida, OT
Trevor Olson, Northern Illinois, OT
Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State, OT
Moe Petrus, Connecticut, C
Ken Plue, Purdue, G
Dontari Poe, Memphis, DT
Nate Potter, Boise State, OT
Tydreke Powell, North Carolina, DT
Kheeston Randall, Texas, DT
Riley Reiff, Iowa, OT
Kendall Reyes, Connecticut, DT
Matt Reynolds, BYU, OT
Mitchell Schwartz, California, OT
Kawann Short, Purdue, DT
Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss, OT
Akeem Spence, Illinois, DT
Alameda Ta'amu, Washington, DT
Lane Taylor, Oklahoma State, G
Chris Thompson, Houston, C
Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech, G
William Vlachos, Alabama, C
Larry Warford, Kentucky, G
Brandon Washington, Miami, G
Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina, OT
Billy Winn, Boise State, DT
Derek Wolfe, Cincinnati, DT
Jerel Worthy, Michigan State, DT
Kevin Zeitler, Wisconsin, G



Watch Houston Video
Fresno State
vs Fresno State
Honolulu, Hawai'i
7:30 PM




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago