Quarterback Case Keenum Named to Walter Camp Award Watch List

    Senior quarterback Case Keenum
    Senior quarterback Case Keenum
    Football Home


    Ticket Information

    Houston Football on Facebook

    Follow Houston Football on Twitter

    Ayers, Jackson Invited to NFL Combine

    Giles Named Rivals.com Group of Five Recruiter of the Year

    2016 Houston Football Schedule Announced


    CBSSports.com Football

    Top 25 Rankings


    July 18, 2011

    49 DAYS to KICKOFF
    UH vs. UCLA • Sept. 3 • 2:30 p.m. • Robertson Stadium

    Facebook Twitter

    HOUSTON - University of Houston senior quarterback Case Keenum received another national preseason honor Monday when he was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Watch List.

    As he prepares for his final collegiate season, Keenum continues his march to the top of the NCAA records book in total offense, passing yards and touchdowns thrown. He enters the 2011 campaign with 13,586 passing yards, 107 passing touchdowns and 14,448 yards of total offense.

    The Abilene, Texas, native also has posted 22 wins as the Cougars' starting quarterback during his career and has a chance to become the program's all-time winningest quarterback in school history.

    During his outstanding career, Keenum has been named to eight All-America teams and has been a finalist for three national offensive awards, including the 2009 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

    He was the 2009 Conference USA Most Valuable Player, the 2008 C-USA Offensive Player of the Year and the league's 2007 Freshman of the Year. In addition to his athletic achievements, Keenum is a five-time member of the C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll.

    The list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The 2011 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 120 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Dec. 8.

    The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Jan. 14, 2012, at the Yale University Commons, in New Haven, Conn.

    PRESEASON HONOREES: With Keenum's newest award, five Cougars have been named to seven national award watch lists during the preseason.

    That group includes:
    Bryce Beall - Doak Walker (Running Back)
    Patrick Edwards - Biletnikoff (Wide Receiver)
    Case Keenum - Davey O'Brien (Quarterback), Maxwell (Offense), Walter Camp
    Marcus McGraw - Lombardi (Lineman)
    Chris Thompson - Outland (Interior Lineman), Lombardi (Lineman)

    COACHES' ROAD TOUR: Fans can catch their favorite coaches and UH administrators in areas around Houston during the 2011 Coaches' Road Tour. After a standing-room only event in Pearland, UH will host fans at Ragin Cajun (9600 Westheimer) on Wednesday and at Loggia (2248 Texas Dr.) in Sugar Land on July 27. Both events begin at 6:30 p.m.

    SEASON TICKETS ON SALE: Season tickets for the 2011 season are currently on sale for both renewals and new orders. Tickets options start as low as $130 and include the Family Fun Plan, which includes two adult and two youth South End Zone General Admission Season tickets for only $275. Ticket prices can be found by visiting UHCougars.com and clicking the Tickets tab or by clicking here.

    WALTER CAMP AWARD: Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," was first selected to an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

    The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's website at NCFAA.org.

    Matt Barkley, QB, USC
    Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State
    Ryan Broyles, WR, Oklahoma
    Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State
    Tank Carder, LB, TCU
    Quinton Coples, DE, North Carolina
    Kirk Cousins, QB, Michigan State
    Jared Crick, DT, Nebraska
    Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
    Michael Egnew, TE, Missouri
    Michael Floyd, WR, Notre Dame
    Jeff Fuller, WR, Texas A&M
    Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor
    Chandler Harnish, QB, Northern Illinois
    Ronnie Hillman, RB, San Diego State
    Jayron Hosley, DB, Virginia Tech
    LaMichael James, RB, Oregon
    Alshon Jeffery, WR, South Carolina
    Brandon Jenkins, DT, Florida State
    Damarais Johnson, WR, Tulsa
    Landry Jones, QB, Oklahoma
    Case Keenum, QB, Houston
    Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College
    Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina
    Robert Lester, DB, Alabama
    Brandon Lindsey, DE, Pittsburgh
    Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford
    Jonathan Massaquoi, DE, Troy
    Bryant Moniz, QB, Hawaii
    Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State
    Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia
    Eric Page, WR/KR, Toledo
    Dan Persa, QB, Northwestern
    Chris Polk, RB, Washington
    Trent Richardson, RB, Alabama
    Denard Robinson, QB, Michigan
    Geno Smith, QB, West Virginia
    Darron Thomas, QB, Oregon
    Brandon Weeden, QB, Oklahoma State
    James White, RB, Wisconsin



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image