Kolb Named To Second Watch List

Aug. 18, 2005

HOUSTON, Texas - For the second time this summer, University of Houston junior quarterback Kevin Kolb (Stephenville, Texas) has been named to a prestigious watch list, this time being selected to the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List, presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

Earlier this summer Kolb was selected to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, and this honor marks the second straight season Kolb has been named to both award watch lists.

A starter since his true freshman season in 2003, Kolb enters his third season at UH on a streak of 24 consecutive starts. Last season, he led Conference USA in total offense with 256.1 yards per game while finishing second in yards passing per game at 251.5. Kolb finished the 2004 season throwing for 2,766 yards and 11 touchdowns and enters the 2005 season ranked in the Top 10 of every UH passing mark.

The former 2003 Conference USA Freshman-of-the-Year, Kolb has passed for almost 6,000 yards (5,897) in his two-year career, completing 58.6 percent of his passes (418-of-713) with 36 touchdowns and only 12 interceptions. More impressively, Kolb's athletic ability has pushed his total offense numbers to 6,294 yards and 48 touchdowns responsible for.

Kolb threw for at least 200 yards in all but two games last season, topping 300 yards against Southern Miss (345) and Louisville (375). He connected for three touchdowns at TCU and had two a piece versus East Carolina and Louisville.

Kolb is one of three quarterbacks from Conference USA to be named to the list, joining UAB's Darrell Hackney and Jordan Palmer from UTEP. As for the state of Texas, Kolb is one of five, with TCU's Tye Gunn, Palmer and the Big XII duo of Reggie McNeal (Texas A&M) and Vince Young (Texas) on the list.

The O'Brien Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. O'Brien led the TCU Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.

Semifinalists will be announced in early November as voted on by the O'Brien Selection Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators, as well as former O'Brien Award winners. The committee will then narrow the field to three finalists and then the winner. The winner of the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback AwardTM will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show at 7 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2005 and will be honored Feb. 20, 2006, at the 29th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in downtown Fort Worth. Air transportation is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback AwardTM.

The Davey O'Brien Foundation was established in 1977 to present the O'Brien Memorial Trophy, recognizing annually the outstanding college football player in the five southwestern states of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico. In 1981, the award was redirected to be national in scope but limited to quarterback, the favorite position of the award's namesake, Davey O'Brien. The award carries with it a $10,000 grant to the scholarship program of the university in which the winner is enrolled. A high school scholarship program began in 1986, awarding annually a $20,000 college scholarship to an outstanding senior student-athlete in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex. Since 1977 the Davey O'Brien Foundation has awarded over $248,000 to the various O'Brien winners' universities and more than $380,000 to deserving high school students.




Watch Houston Video
TDECU Stadium
11:00 AM
GameTracker Audio Tickets




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago