Cougars' Clark Joins Ray Guy Watch List

HOUSTON, Texas (August 29) - The University of Houston's senior punter Mike Clark (Centerville, Utah) today was named to the Ray Guy Award watch list as possible candidates for the inaugural award. The announcement was made by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, and Clark joins 31 other Division I-A punters for the first-year honor.

The award is named after the greatest punter of all time, Ray Guy, who attended the University of Southern Mississippi and then was drafted in the first round by the Oakland Raiders. Guy played for the Raiders from 1973-86.

Clark joined the Cougars last season after two years at Ricks Junior College in Idaho. Clark initially was Houston's place kicker, but the former Junior College All-America picked up the Cougars' punting chores midway through the 1999 season. Clark finished the season with a 42.9 average on 32 punts, placing 10 inside the 20 with a long punt of 59 yards. He also connected on 14-of-21 field goals and 26-of-28 extra points. The Ray Guy Award will be awarded to the nation's best punter as determined by a committee made up of sports writers, college football coaches, former punters and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. The winner will display leadership, self-discipline and have a significant positive impact on the team's success.

The National Selection Committee will choose the ten semi-finalists who will be announced by November 8, 2000. That same national body will then vote for the three finalists who will be announced November 30, 2000. Joining Clark on the "Watch List" include Jason Baker (Iowa), Brooks Barnard (Maryland), Ray Cheetany (UNLV), Keith Cottrel (Florida State) and Alan Cox (Washington State). Also on the list are Kurtis Doerr (Oregon), Travis Dorsch (Purdue), Dan Dyke (Georgia Tech), Hayden Epstein (Michigan), Mark Fazzolari (West Virginia), Jeff Ferguson (Oklahoma), Steve Fitts (Illinois), Dan Hadenfeldt (Nebraska), Nick Harris (California), Curtis Head (Marshall), Reagan King (Ole Miss), Andy Kohl (New Mexico State), David Leaverton (Tennessee), Casey Lipscomb (Tulsa), Mike MacGillivray (USC), Kevin McMyler (Boston College), Steve Mullins (Utah State), Brian Morton (Duke), Joey Pelfanio (Kansas), Alan Rhine (Florida), Casey Roussel (Tulane), Andy Shatley (Arkansas State), Matt Steffen (Western Michigan), Kevin Stemke (Wisconsin), Colin Vadheim (SMU) and David Zastudil (Ohio).



Watch Houston Video
TDECU Stadium
11:00 AM
GameTracker Audio Tickets




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago