Football Game to Feature O'Brien Award Candidates

    Senior quarterback Kevin Kolb
    Senior quarterback Kevin Kolb
    Football Home


    Ticket Information

    Houston Football on Facebook

    Follow Houston Football on Twitter

    Ayers, Jackson Invited to NFL Combine

    Giles Named Group of Five Recruiter of the Year

    2016 Houston Football Schedule Announced


    Top 25 Rankings


    Sept. 27, 2006

    Saturday's game against the University of Miami will feature two quarterbacks that are candidates for the Davey O'Brian National Quarterback Award. Kevin Kolb will face Kyle Wright when the Cougars take on the Hurricanes Saturday on ESPN2 at 5 p.m. CDT.

    The O'Brien Award is oldest award for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. He led TCU to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards in one season.

    Semifinalists for the award will be announced in November and the winner will be announced at the Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 19, 2007.

    The only UH quarterback to win the O'Brien Award was Andre Ware in 1989.

    For more information go to



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image