For Second Straight Week UH Football will face Davey O'Brien Award Candidate

Oct. 2, 2006

For the second straight week, a UH football game will feature two quarterbacks on the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award watch list. Senior Kevin Kolb will face Louisiana-Lafayette senior Jerry Babb Oct. 7 at 6 p.m. on John O'Quinn Field at Robertson Stadium.

Houston is 0-1 this season against quarterbacks on the watch list. University of Miami quarterback Kyle Wright defeated the Cougars 14-13 on Sept. 29 in Miami, Fla.

The O'Brien Award is oldest award for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. He led TCU to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards in one season.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced in November and the winner will be announced at the Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 19, 2007.

The only UH quarterback to win the O'Brien Award was Andre Ware in 1989.



Watch Houston Video
TDECU Stadium
11:00 AM
GameTracker Audio Tickets




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago