Houston Football to Face O'Brien Award Candidate for Third Time

    Senior Quarterback Kevin Kolb
    Senior Quarterback Kevin Kolb
    Football Home


    Ticket Information

    Houston Football on Facebook

    Follow Houston Football on Twitter

    2016 Houston Football Schedule Announced

    The #HTownTakeover Signs 23 to 2016 Class

    Houston to Hold Spring Walk-On Tryouts


    CBSSports.com Football

    Top 25 Rankings


    Oct. 16, 2006

    For the third time this season the University of Houston football team will face a quarterback on the Davey O'Brien Watch List.

    Senior quarterback Kevin Kolb and UTEP senior quarterback Jordan Palmer have both been named to the award watch list.

    The O'Brien Award is oldest award for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. He led TCU to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards in one season.

    Semifinalists for the award will be announced in November and the winner will be announced at the Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 19, 2007.

    The only UH quarterback to win the O'Brien Award was Andre Ware in 1989.



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image