Houston to Face Davey O'Brien Award Candidate for Fourth Time in 2006

    Houston will host Tulsa on Saturday at 2:30 p.m.
    Houston will host Tulsa on Saturday at 2:30 p.m.
    Football Home


    Ticket Information

    Houston Football on Facebook

    Follow Houston Football on Twitter

    Ayers, Jackson Invited to NFL Combine

    Giles Named Rivals.com Group of Five Recruiter of the Year

    2016 Houston Football Schedule Announced


    CBSSports.com Football

    Top 25 Rankings


    Oct. 30, 2006

    HOUSTON - Saturday's football match-up with Tulsa will feature two quarterbacks on the Davey O'Brien Watch List. This will be the fourth time the Cougars will face a quarterback on the list.

    Senior Kevin Kolb and Tulsa senior quarterback Paul Smith will face off at 2:30 p.m. at Robertson Stadium on CSTV.

    The Cougars are 1-2 against Davey O'Brien award candidates, defeating UTEP quarterback Jordan Palmer and falling to Louisiana-Lafayette quarterback Jerry Babb and Miami quarterback Kyle Wright.

    The O'Brien Award is oldest award for college quarterbacks and is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien. He led TCU to the 1938 national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards in one season.

    Semifinalists for the award will be announced in November and the winner will be announced at the Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 19, 2007.

    The only UH quarterback to win the O'Brien Award was Andre Ware in 1989.



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image