Kevin Kolb Honored as Conference USA Freshman of the Year

Dec. 4, 2003

HOUSTON - After throwing for nearly 2,800 yards and 23 touchdowns and helping lead the University of Houston football team to its first bowl appearance in seven years, quarterback Kevin Kolb was honored Thursday as the Conference USA Freshman of the Year.

The Stephenville, Texas, native became the first true freshman to start a season opener as quarterback for the Cougars in school history and would go on to set virtually every freshman passing record.

His 5.8:1 touchdown-to-interception ratio ranks as the second-best in UH single-season history, and he became one of only four players in NCAA Division I-A history to throw for 400 yards and rush for 100 yards against C-USA rival TCU on Oct. 25.

Kolb enters the bowl game having thrown at least one touchdown pass in all but two games this season and has thrown at least two TD scores in nine games and each of the last three contests.

This season, he tops all freshman passers in Division I-A in attempts (326), completions (201), passing yards (2,799) and passing touchdowns (23) and is the national freshman leader with seven wins as a starter.

He became the third Cougar to win the league's award. Running back Ketric Sanford earned the league honor in 1996, while quarterback Jason McKinley collected the award one year later.

Memphis sophomore running back DeAngelo Williams was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Southern Miss senior linebacker Rod Davis received Defensive accolades. TCU's Nick Browne as named the league's Special Teams Player of the Year.

Southern Miss head coach Jeff Bower was chosen as the C-USA Coach of the Year.



Watch Houston Video
TDECU Stadium
11:00 AM
GameTracker Audio Tickets




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago