Golf in Second Place after First Day at C-USA Championship

    Men's Golf Home


    Redstone Golf Club

    Houston Golf on Facebook

    Follow Houston Golf on Twitter


    Coach Chris Hill Named Finalist for Jan Strickland Award

    James Ross Named to Team Europe for Palmer Cup

    James Ross Named The American Men's Golfer of the Week

    April 19, 2004

    DADE CITY, Fla. - The University of Houston golf team stood in second place Monday after the first round of the 2004 Conference USA Men's Championship at Lake Jovita Golf and Country Club in Dade City, Fla.

    The Cougars fired a team score of 297 on the 7,153-yard, par-72 course to stand 11 strokes behind defending team champion TCU. Southern Miss is one stroke back at 298 with UAB (300), Charlotte (301), Louisville (304), East Carolina (305), USF (305), Tulane (308), Memphis (308), Marquette (309), Cincinnati (316), Saint Louis (317) and DePaul (322) rounding out the rest of the field.

    Individually, sophomore co-captain Zach Mowbray led the Cougars and finished the first day in a tie for fifth place at 1-over-par 73.

    Freshman Ricky Romano and sophomore Kevin Newman finished among the first day's Top 10 leaders after each shooting 2-over-par 74. Junior Jordan Hasbrouck (t-22nd, 76) and senior co-captain Denton Walker (t-41st, 78) also competed for the Cougars at the event.

    TCU's Adam Meyer led all players after the first day after shooting a 4-under-par 68. Teammate Colby Beckstrom was one stroke back at 69 with Charlotte's Scott McNeil and Justin Elliott of Southern Miss tied for third at 72.

    The teams continue the tournament with another 18 holes, beginning at 6:45 a.m. (CDT), Tuesday. The 54-hole tournament runs through Wednesday.

    1. TCU 286
    2. Houston 297
    3. Southern Miss 298
    4. UAB 300
    5. Charlotte 301
    6. Louisville 304
    T7. East Carolina 305
    T7. USF 305
    T9. Tulane 308
    T9. Memphis 308
    11. Marquette 309
    12. Cincinnati 316
    13. Saint Louis 317
    14. DePaul 322



    1 . Adam Meyer, TCU 68
    2. Colby Beckstrom, TCU 69
    T3. Scott McNeil, Charlotte 72
    T3. Justin Elliott, Southern Miss 72
    T5. Zach Mowbray, UH 73
    T5. Alan Weant, Memphis 73
    T5. Brent Holmes, Louisville 73
    T5. Brad Quiri, USF 73
    T5. David Schultz, TCU 73
    T10. Ricky Romano, UH 74
    T10. Kevin Newman, UH 74
    T10. Nathan Turner, UAB 74
    10. Michael Thompson, Tulane 74
    T10. Nathan Colson, Marquette 74

    T5. Zach Mowbray, UH 73
    T10. Ricky Romano, UH 74
    T10. Kevin Newman, UH 74
    T22. Jordan Hasbrouck, UH 76
    T41. Denton Walker, UH 78

    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image