University of Houston Men's Golf Team Hosts Border Olympics Tournament At Laredo

March 14, 2007

For the second consecutive year, the University of Houston men's golf team will host the Border Olympics golf tournament in Laredo, Texas on Mar. 16-17. The 54-hole tournament will be played on a 7,241-yard, par 72 course at the Laredo Country Club.

Last year's champion Baylor returns along with 10 of the top 11 schools in last year's tournament. This year's features ninth-ranked Lamar and eight other teams that played in the 2006 NCAA Regional Championships. Those teams include Houston, Arkansas, Baylor, Notre Dame, SMU, Texas-Arlington, Vanderbilt, and Washington State. The other teams in the tournament include Arkansas-Little Rock, Louisiana-Lafayette, Memphis, North Texas, Rice, South Alabama, Texas State and UTEP.

Houston enters the event coming off a 14th-place finish at the Louisiana Classics on Mar. 5-6. The Cougars tied for first place at the GADO North Texas Classic, and had top five finishes as a team at the Mean Green Classic, Kansas Invitational, Pepperdine's Club Glove Intercollegiate and its own All-American Intercollegiate Tournament earlier this season.

The Cougars are led by junior Jordan Irwin, who was the individual medalist at the Mean Green Classic and North Texas Classics this season. Irwin also was the runner-up at the Kansas Invitational. Senior Ricky Romano was the runner-up individual performer at the Club Glove Intercollegiate and finished in sixth place at the All-American Intercollegiate. Fellow senior Pablo Acuna was the runner-up at the Mean Green Classic behind Irwin and had a sixth place finish at the GADO North Texas Classic as well.

The tournaments tees off with a shot gun start at 8:45 a.m. on Friday, Mar. 16. The teams will play 36 holes on Friday and another 18 holes on Saturday, with the third round beginning at 8:45 a.m. as well.

The first round pairings include Houston, North Texas and Arkansas in group one; Lamar, Baylor and Vanderbilt in group two; Texas-Arlington, Memphis and Washington State in group three; Notre Dame, South Alabama and Louisiana-Lafayette in group four; and Rice, Arkansas-Little Rock and Texas State in group five. There also will be 10 individual players competing in the tournament as well.



There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago