Jackson And Hawkins Earn Women's Basketball All-Conference Honors

    Tye Jackson was named first team All-Conference USA Wednesday, prior to the opening of C-USA Women's Basketball Championship in Dallas.
    Tye Jackson was named first team All-Conference USA Wednesday, prior to the opening of C-USA Women's Basketball Championship in Dallas.
    Women's Basketball Home


    Ticket Information

    Hofheinz Pavilion

    Houston Women's Hoops on Facebook

    Follow Houston Women's Hoops on Twitter

    Former UH Coach Joe Curl Passes Away on Monday

    2013-14 Women's Basketball Season in Review

    Women's Basketball Postgame Quotes AAC Tournament Quarterfinals

    March 1, 2006

    DALLAS - Tye Jackson (Houston, Texas/Westfield HS/Purdue) and Sha'Ratta Hawkins (Houston, Texas/Jesse Jones HS) both earned All-Conference USA accolades as the league announced the 2005-06 award winners ahead of the start of the women's basketball championship Thursday.

    Jackson, a sophomore transfer, grabbed a spot on the first team while Hawkins was named to the league's third team as well as the all-freshman team. This is the fifth-straight year a UH played has earned first team all-league honors and the first time since 2001-02 that a Cougar has graced the all-freshman team.

    Jackson, who would be tied for the league lead in scoring at 18.0 points per game, sat out the first seven games of the season while fulfilling NCAA transfer requirements. She has not yet played in 75 percent of UH's games and as a result, does not appear in the league statistics. She has recorded seven 20-plus point performances and two 30-point games. Her 37-point tally against Rice on Jan. 15 is the league's top single-game effort this season. In Houston's most recent game against UAB (Feb. 26), Jackson knocked down 35 points, including UH's first 24 points of the second half.

    Hawkins, who has ranked among the league's top-10 scorers for most of the season, has averaged a team-high 35.2 minutes per game. She also ranks among the top-20 in the conference in 3-point field goals made, steals, blocked shots, rebounding and steals. She opened up the season with a career-best 28 points and has tallied a total of seven 20-plus point games this year. She is averaging 15.8 points per game and 6.0 rebounds per game in the last five contests.

    "I think the awards were right on the money," head coach Joe Curl said. "I am very proud to have two student-athletes representing us. Their individual successes have come as a result of our play as a team. Tye (Jackson) and Sha'Ratta (Hawkins) both came in and really bought into our system of play. They are deserving because of the outstanding season's they have had."

    Tulsa's Jillian Robbins was named the C-USA Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year while Tulsa head coach Charlene Thomas-Swinson was named coach of the year.

    Joining Jackson and Robbins on the first team were Lauren Neaves of Rice, Janielle Dodds of SMU and UAB's Carmen Guzman. Named to the second team all-conference were Jasmine Young and Cherie Mills of East Carolina, Megan Moody of Tulsa, Houston native Sikeetha Shephard Hall of Marshall and Southern Miss' Kendra Reed. Reed and Young shared C-USA's freshman of the year honor.

    Hawkins, Krystal Frazier of Rice, Kara Pongonis-Paslay of Tulsa, Jennifer Sands of Tulane and Houston native Sarah Davis os SMU earned spots on the conference's third team.

    Along with Hawkins, Britney Jones of UAB, Ashley Langford of Tulane, Reed and Young were named to the first-year team.

    Houston, the No. 7 seed, squares off with No. 10 UTEP Thursday at 6 p.m. CST in Moody Coliseum. The game's winner takes on No. 2 Rice at 6 p.m. Friday.



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image