Scott to Compete in State Farm College 3-Point Championship

March 28, 2011

HOUSTON - University of Houston women's basketball senior Brittney Scott has been invited to participate in the 2011 State Farm College 3-Point Championship, which will be held at Hofheinz Pavilion on March 31 as part of the Final Four festivities.

The State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships will be taped at 6:30 p.m. CT and will premiere at 8:00 p.m. CT March 31 on ESPN2.

Scott, who just wrapped up her record-breaking career at Houston, is one of the most prolific 3-point shooters in school history. The Orange, Texas, native shattered Chandi Jones' all-time 3-point mark on Jan. 20 at UAB, and finished her career with 226 made treys, which also ranks sixth in Conference USA history.

Scott led the Cougars this season with 15.8 points per game and drained 84 long-range bombs at a 39-percent clip. The 84 3-pointers tied her own mark during the 2009-10 season and ranks second for a single season in Houston history.

Scott also finished her memorable career ranking first in 3-point attempts (642), second in free-throw percentage (79.9), third in 3-point percentage (35.2) and field goal attempts (1,323), fourth in games started (93) and minutes played (3,279), fifth in made free-throws (318), sixth in free-throw attempts (398), seventh in points scored (1,522) and ninth in made field goals (489).

A complete 24-player roster of the nation's elite men's and women's college basketball players will be on hand to participate in the 2011 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, which is annually held in the Final Four city. The program consists of the Men's 3-Point Shooting Championship, State Farm Women's 3-Point Shooting Championships, Mercedes-Benz Battle of the Champions and the Denny's Slam Dunk Competition.

Previous event participants include Gary Payton (Oregon State), Allan Houston (Tennessee), Steve Nash (UC-Santa Clara), Michael Finley (Wisconsin), Bobby Hurley (Duke), Desmond Mason (Oklahoma State), Scoonie Penn (Ohio State), Damon Stoudamire (Arizona), Bryce Drew (Valparaiso), A.J. Guyton (Indiana), Katie Gearlds (Purdue), Jennifer Jacoby (Purdue), Kelly Mazzante (Penn State) and Cappie Pondexter (Rutgers).



The program will re-air numerous times on ESPN networks. The ESPN broadcast team will include Dan Dakich, Jimmy Dykes and Brad Nessler.

Tickets for the 2011 College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are $15 for adults and can be purchased at www.collegeslam.com.

Houston students and faculty/staff can purchase tickets for only $7 by stopping by the ticket office in advance, located in the Athletics/Alumni Center, or at Hofheinz Pavilion on game day starting at 5:30 p.m. Students and faculty/staff will need to present their University of Houston ID to purchase the tickets.

Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago