Zavalza, Derieg and Lachappelle Named All-Conference USA

    Jessica Zavalza
    Jessica Zavalza
    Women's Soccer Home


    Ticket Information

    Tom Tellez Track Facility

    Houston Soccer on Facebook

    Follow Houston Soccer on Twitter

    Megan Goh Teams With International Medical Relief Foundation

    Academics a Focus in Preparing Champions for Life

    Cougars Add Keeper Rachel Estopare to 2016 Roster

    Nov. 1, 2011

    HOUSTON - The University of Houston women's soccer team had three players named to the All Conference USA squads as announced by the league office Tuesday Morning. Senior Jessica Zavalza was named to the Second Team, while fellow senior Stephanie Derieg and freshman Sharis Lachappelle garnered Third Team accolades. Lachappelle was also named to the All-Freshman Team.

    In her senior season, Zavalza paced the Cougars' offense as she registered a team-high seven goals. Zavalza also leads the team in points (15) and game-winning goals (1). The Santa Ana, Calif., native made her mark at Houston as she finishes her career ranked among the programs all-time top-10 in goals (4th), points (5th) and game-winning goals (2nd).

    Derieg started 15 of 19 games, recording one goal and one assist in her final season with the Cougars. Derieg finished her career at Houston tied for sixth all-time in career assists with eight. The Third Team selection marks the second time Derieg has received league recognition in her career at Houston. She was named to the All-Freshman team in 2008.

    Lachappelle had a tremendous inaugural season for Houston. The San Antonio native played in all 19 games this season, starting 17 and logging a rookie-best 1,318 minutes. Lachappelle also scored three goals and had three assists for the Cougars, while constantly putting pressure on opposing goalkeepers as she led the team in shots on goal with 21.

    A complete list of the three all-conference team selections and specialty award winners follows:


    Offensive Player of the Year:
 Christabel Oduro, Memphis
    Defensive Player of the Year: 
Lizzy Simonin, Memphis
    Midfielder of the Year:
 Jessie Ayers, Colorado College
    Freshman of the Year:
 Jessie Ayers, Colorado College
    Coach of the Year:
 Brooks Monaghan, Memphis



    All-Conference First Team
    F: Lauren DiGregorio, Colorado College

    F: Christabel Oduro, Memphis

    F: Jessica Howard, Rice

    F: Tiffini Turpin, UAB

    F: Tishia Jewell, UCF

    MF: Jessie Ayers, Colorado College

    MF: Kimmy Cummings, East Carolina

    MF: Mallory Baum, SMU

    D: Lizzy Simonin, Memphis

    D: Kaitlyn Eidson, SMU

    D: Marissa Diggs, UCF 

    GK: Elise Kuhar-Pitters, Memphis

    All-Conference Second Team
    F: Britney Lyman, Colorado College

    F: Amanda Malkiewicz, East Carolina

    F: Jessica Zavalza, Houston
    MF: Lizzy Hildebrandt, Memphis

    MF: Stacie Hubbard, UCF

    MF: Azia Nicholson, UTEP

    D: Beth Wright, Colorado College

    D: Lauren LaGro, Rice

    D: Claire Hulcer, Tulsa

    GK: Aline Reis, UCF

    All-Conference Third Team
    F: Claire Nicholson, Tulsa

    F: Tess Hall, UTEP

    F: Katie Dorman, UTEP

    MF: Sharis Lachappelle, Houston
    MF: Angela DeSumma, Marshall 

    MF: Quynh Nhu Truong, Rice

    MF: Jordan O'Brien, Tulsa

    MF: Carolyn Polcari, UAB

    D: Stephanie Derieg, Houston

    D: Courtney Smith, SMU

    D: Caitlin Leumas, Southern Miss

    GK: Amy Czyz, Rice

    All-Freshman Team
    MF: Jessie Ayers, Colorado College

    F: Kaeli Vandersluis, Colorado College

    D/MF: Kelley Johnson, East Carolina

    MF: Sharis Lachappelle, Houston

    MF: Kylie Davis, Memphis

    MF: Natalia Gomez-Junco, Memphis

    GK: Amy Czyz, Rice

    MF: Quynh Nhu Truong, Rice

    MF: Rikki Clarke, SMU
    D: Carleigh Williams, UCF

    GK: Sarah Dilling, UTEP


    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image