Houston Divers Capture Conference USA Specialty Awards

Julia Lonnegren

April 3, 2013

HOUSTON - University of Houston student-atheltes Julia Lonnegren and Danielle Shedd were named the Conference USA Diver and Freshman Diver of the Year, respectively, as the league office announced Wednesday afternoon.

The senior Lonnegren became the third diver in conference history to repeat at Diver of the Year, joining Houston greats Yulia Pakhalina (2002, 2003) and Anastasia Pozdniakova (2009, 2010). Houston divers under head diving coach Jane Figueiredo have captured the last 12 Diver of the Year awards, the only school to win the distinction.

Lonnegren, a native of Malmö (Sweden) took first place in the 3-meter and platform events at the C-USA Swimming and Diving Championships (Feb. 20-23) to help the Cougars finish in second place. Lonnegren was named the C-USA Diver of the Week four times during her senior campaign and finished as runner up in the 1-meter event.

Shedd, a freshman from Converse (Texas), became the ninth UH diver to earn the C-USA Freshman Diver of the Year honor. Shedd took runner up in the platform event at the C-USA Championships to Lonnegren and picked up a pair of third-place finishes at the meet. Shedd helped the Cougar divers sweep the top-three places in all three diving events with her efforts.

2012-13 Conference USA Swimming and Diving Specialty Awards:
Swimmer of the Year: Isabella Arcila, SMU, So., Cali, Colombia
Diver of the Year: Julia Lonnegren, Houston, Sr., Malmö, Sweden
Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Danielle Villars, SMU, Zurich, Switzerland
Freshman Diver of the Year: Danielle Shedd, Houston, Converse, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Nathalie Lindborg, SMU, So., Trelleborg, Sweden



Watch Houston Video
There are no upcoming events.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago