Borwell Named To C-USA All-Decade Team

    Former Cougar Sarah Borwell was named to the C-USA All-Decade Team by league coaches.
    Former Cougar Sarah Borwell was named to the C-USA All-Decade Team by league coaches.
    Women's Tennis Home


    John E. Hoff Courts

    Houston Tennis on Facebook

    Follow Houston Tennis on Twitter

    Cougars Fall 5-2 in Weekend Matchup with Oregon

    Houston Falls in Spring Home Opener to Arizona

    No. 44 Houston Hosts Arizona, Oregon in Home Opener

    April 18, 2005

    HOUSTON - Conference USA announced its All-Decade Tennis Team on Monday with former Houston netter Sarah Borwell making the grade to earn a spot on the 10th anniversary team that honors the top athletes in conference history.

    Athletes were nominated to the team by their respective schools and the current coaches in C-USA voted to determine the makeup of the All-Decade Team.

    With an all-time singles record of 130-56, Borwell distinguished herself not just as one of the best Houston tennis players, but as one of the best to ever play in C-USA.

    Borwell, who played from 1999-2002, made three NCAA Tournament appearances, was named First Team All-Conference in both 2001 and 2002, was a Second Team selection in 1999, and was named the 2002 C-USA Player of the Year after going 5-0 against league competition and 12-2 overall.

    In the doubles pairing, Borwell excelled with teammate Galina Seliounina. The duo recorded a 22-6 record together, earned a No. 2 ranking in the Southwest Region, a No. 25 national ranking, and played together in the 1999 NCAA Doubles Tournament

    Borwell, who is still competing professionally, participated in the doubles parings of Wimbledon in 2004.

    C-USA Women's Tennis All-Decade Team
    Kara Molony, Cincinnati (1998-2001)
    Sarah Borwell, Houston (1999-2002)
    Ana Fernandez, Marquette (1995-2000)
    Elisa Penalvo, Marquette (1995-2000)
    Julie Siemers, Saint Louis (1998-2002)
    Paty Aburto, TCU (2001-2004)
    Anna Monhartova, Tulane (1999-2001) - Athlete of the Decade
    Jenny Kuehn, Tulane (2002-present)
    Mirela Vladulescu, UAB (1997-2001)
    Kathrine Tessier, USF (1996-2000)
    David Schumacher, Tulane (2000-present) - Coach of the Decade



    Shop Now at the Official
    Online Store

      Divider image